Choosing Sides…..

Veg or Non-Veg? The intriguing expression of my host leaves me perplexed.  I know there are people who are ardent supporter of no cruelty against animals and they are in general vegetarian and this is the backbone of their argument against non-vegetarian folks. But that does not make me decide whether I am a deer or tiger. I was always proud that I belong to highly evolved species Homo sapiens, whose one of the specialty is being omnivore.  Besides having that quality, I am bon vivant. The only difference I presume from my fellow beings is (which I realize from their every other ambiguous expression), I eat when and what I crave for and which closest relative of that dish is available for me. I give full authority to my taste glands to decide what should glide over them so that they will relish it. Now I don’t understand that if I am a hallmarked “non-vegetarian” then why I can’t eat a well prepared vegetarian dish lying next to the platter. Why should I bother to winnow myself into group of vegetarian and non-vegetarian? Even my “purely non-vegetarian (a term I still can’t figure out)” friends tell me that if you eat non-vegetarian dish, you will not relish the vegetarian dish. Most of my “strictly veggie” friends diet is incumbent on religious sentiments so I can understand the preference.Image

I don’t know exactly how age-old is the war between veg and non-veg. I never saw a muglai chiken in an armour on one side of food court and other side led by palak paneer with their respective followers of seekh- kebeb with a javelin and aloo dopyaza donned with a shield.  In most of the parties I attended the counters for veg and non-veg are so distinctly and as faraway placed as possible.  And if a person entering any of the counter as if even try to venture in to the other counter, he/she is looked upon as an outcast. Even if you survive the looks, still u cannot escape the bombardment of questions that follows your profanity. Sometimes I feel jealous of naan and pulao, why are they never subjected to the big decision?

I decide something solely for my selfish body and taste buds, what right do I bestow on people to ponder about the national crisis? “Oh I never saw her eating non-veg before; all of a sudden she has started….hmmm she is in love!” Ahh this cupid metier suits him only.  I don’t know what act makes you answerable to dreaded question of “are you or are you not”. People say statistics is tough. Believe me the world is simpler out there. We know at what p value to accept the null hypothesis and when to reject it.

P.S. The article is meant for Indian folks. For one that Indian dishes are mentioned but nonetheless our momentary preferred diet can raise a question of being in love can only linger in Indian mind 🙂

This entry was posted in Fun.....

Leave a comment