Parlor gambol

Having a haircut is always a dilemma. Honestly I don’t know what will suit me and in the lack of a heartbreak or depression as such, I cannot get into the impulse of surrendering myself to the delight of professionals. Another problem is that if you are in a mall or city which has a penchant  for obnoxiously high-price contests then thought of entering a parlor makes you rebarbative.

Anyways my experience is of Delhi. When I search for one I wont find a parlor and then in a mall right next to one another there will be four. And its not that its for people convenience that if one is busy you have choice to enter the other. They all are free!!!! The sole customer being the owner and  the workers. Still it is highly unprofessional if you enter without an appointment.

Well anyways I asked the prices of haircut in all and they varied considerably. I tried the middle range. He even offered me a discount if I were a college student, its just it was buy one and the other will get free!!!!

So I entered to get yet another experiment on my hair. The usual pleasantries and within 5 minutes I had a haircut. But it was not over . For another 25 minutes the hairdresser along with an assistant started drying and setting my hair. That was funny because I don’t even have that much hair to set. So actually the price they offer is for making you feel good once you go out of their parlor. Back home after one wash you may start wondering whom you saw in the parlor mirror.

Then another instigation to my laughter. A heavy- built  sardar  sat on seat  next to me and a couple of workers started doing bleach and all. This was the first time I saw a man trying to get fair apart from that funny advertisement of fair handsome. Everytime I would laugh, my hairdresser would increase his time of setting my hair.

I really don’t get why do they have unisex parlor?…..the only unisex thing  I can tolerate is watches, wasn’t T-shirts enough blunder? Its not a pub for Christ’s  sake. It’s a place where we go to hide our weaknesses and thus be presentable and appealing to the other sex.  If our demerits are moulded into perfection under the same roof, its very unlikely that I will appreciate the true beauty of my Mr. Perfect!

This entry was posted in Fun.....

Leave a comment